Click here to download the PSA Annual Report 2022.pdf


Executive Officer
David Heard
Phone: 0408 390 211

Facebook: paddlesouthaustralia

Office & Program HQ
Aquatic Reserve, Bower Rd, West Lakes, SA 5021
Postal Address PO Box 281, Port Adelaide, SA 5015


Paddling is a multi-faceted activity, ranging from dabbling in quiet backwaters to the athleticism of sprint racing, through to marathon racing, canoe polo, and sea and surf kayaking.

Paddle SA is recognised by the state Office for Recreation, Sport and Racing (ORSR) as the pre eminent body responsible for all paddling activities throughout South Australia. We are affiliated with Paddle Australia (the National Sporting Organisation), the SA Olympic Council, Sport SA, and Recreation SA.

Canoe and kayak are Olympic sports. With funding support from ORSR, Paddle SA employs two full time coaches to manage our high performance and athlete development programs, in partnership with the SA Sports Institute (SASI). 

We also receive funding support to manage a Disability Inclusion Paddling Program, and facilitate a variety of school, outdoor education and community based paddling activities. As a member of the Trails Advisory Group Paddle SA contributes to the development and maintenance of 100s of recreation trails throughout the state.

Paddle SA is a National Training Provider (NTP) for the Paddle Australia Qualification Scheme (PAQS), which is the national benchmark for paddling education and quality assurance. Our team of fully qualified and experienced instructors provides the highest standards of skills and safety guidance to recreational paddlers, industry employees, commercial operators and officials.

There are six active clubs affiliated with Paddle SA located throughout metropolitan Adelaide, plus another based at Encounter Lakes. Our clubs always welcome new members of all ages, and can provide personal instruction, coaching and access to equipment.

Club membership entitles paddlers to a multitude of benefits, including personal accident and liability insurance, entry to state competition and non competition events, and organised recreational activities to engage with other paddlers and discover new places.

We encourage you to visit our website to find further information about paddling in South Australia. Whether you are looking to do a training course, join a club, register for events, or just find out where to have a quiet paddle it’s all here on one site.

You can also contact the Paddle SA office with any questions you may have. 0408 390 211

Staff and Board

The Board of Directors consists of a President, elected by the membership every two years at the AGM and five “interested” directors, with an addition of a possible two “independent” directors.

The Chairperson of the Board is a position elected by the Directors at the first Board meeting after the AGM. The Chairperson’s role is to chair all Board meetings and the AGM.

The term of office for all elected positions on the Board is for two years. In each odd year, the President and two directors are elected and in each even year, three directors are elected (in accordance with the constitution)

Jim Murphy, President
Mark Bulmer
Meredith Blesing
James Tucker
Karla Della Pietra
Sally Jenkin

Paddle SA Standing Committees

The constitution provides for a standing committees of the Board to be responsible for particular areas of the sport and to assist the Board in its governance and operational tasks.

Canoe Polo Technical Committee – Chairperson: Noel Holmes
Education and Safety Technical Committee – Chairperson: Scott Polley
Flatwater Racing Technical Committee (includes the disciplines of Canoe/Kayak Sprint and Canoe/Kayak Marathon) – Chairperson: Jim Murphy

Life Members
The constitution sets out the provisions for life membership of the Association 7.3 Life Members:

(a) Any member may nominate a person who has rendered distinguished or special service to the sport of canoeing at the state level, for life membership. The nomination must be on the prescribed form (if any) and must be submitted to the Executive Officer.

(b) The Board must approve any nominations prior to their consideration at an Annual General Meeting.

(c) The nomination for Life Member shall be considered at the Annual General Meeting. A resolution of the Annual General Meeting to confer life membership must be passed by Special Resolution. The vote on such resolution will be taken by secret ballot.

(d) Conditions, obligations and privileges of life membership shall be as prescribed in the By-Laws.

Life Members of Paddle SA

The following people have been conferred with life membership of Paddle South Australia.

Ron Blum
Peter Carter
Bruce Chidlow
Anthea Courtney
Martin Finn
David Forster
John Hales
Noel Holmes
Brother Ray Howard (deceased)
Ian Hume
David Mallett
David Mausolf (deceased)
Jim Murphy
H John (Blue) Nolan
Mark O’Brien
Lawrie Shem
Derek Stevens
Ken Sullivan
Roger French (deceased)
Wayne Hooper
Libby Robertson
Steven Wild
Anne Langsford
Simon Langsford